Queen's Coalition against Racist and Ethnic Discrimination


A statement by QCRED on Antisemitism
July 27, 2009, 6:29 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

QCRED condemns all forms of racism and oppression including antisemitism. As a group that aims to emphasize the plurality of experiences within communities, we condemn the overt conflation of Judaism with Zionism. QCRED sees this comparison as in and of itself oppressive as it does not reflect the wide and diverse perspectives coming out of Jewish communities, religious and non-religious — many of which are openly anti-Zionist or post-Zionist (if you want more information about organizations that represent these voices, please come by the QCRED office in JDUC).

However, QCRED does recognize that the conflation between Zionism and Judaism continues to be made, and we condemn this conflation whether or not it is done to mask anti-Jewish hate or an attempt to push forward a specific type of politics.

It is in this respect that we condemn the recent defacement of Israeli advocacy propaganda with a historically racist symbol.

We condemn this defacement when it is in reference to the state, not out of our protection of the state, but because it is dangerous to compare Zionist policies with the symbol of Nazi Germany. This act evokes the historical and body memory of the Holocaust and regardless of the intent, directly marginalizes those who are forced to carry this legacy.

As a group that puts anti-racism above all other politics and remains a space that works for the liberation of all marginalized peoples, we see the ramification of this defacing as either reflecting and/or producing antisemitism. Therefore, we call on the administration to take a firm stance condemning this incident and other incidents that reflect or produce an anti-Jewish climate on this campus.

If anyone has questions about QCRED and its role in combating oppression, specifically antisemitism, please come by our office and pick up a free zine we are distributing regarding the issue. The zine is also available online at: http://www.pinteleyid.com/past/.

In solidarity,
QCRED


7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I was suggested this website by my cousin. I am not sure whether this
post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my problem.
You’re amazing! Thanks!

Comment by creative advertising websites

neon sunglasses should be equally successful with
their eyes in the middle of the must-have accessories.
Both Oakley’s and Roxy’s are available as well as a prototype of modern design.
By doing this, these Aviator neon sunglasses, due to defects material or price range you can record what is your eyes.

So the next three years ago designed specifically for the price.

Comment by aviator sunglasses

Wow, incredible weblog format! How long have you been blogging for?

you make running a blog look easy. The entire glance of your web site is great, let
alone the content!

Comment by Jesus

Greetings I am so happy I found your web site, I really found you by mistake, while
I was looking on Aol for something

else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say thanks a lot for a remarkable post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have
time to look over it all at the minute but I
have bookmarked it and also

added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to
read a lot more, Please do keep up the fantastic work.

Comment by Patty

The subsequent time I learn a weblog, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me as much as
this one. I imply, I know it was my option to read, but I

truly thought youd have something fascinating to say.
All I

hear is a bunch of whining about one thing that you would fix in the event you werent too busy looking for attention.

Comment by http://tecmoodle.remote-learner.net/user/view.php?id=19824&course=1

Hello! This post could not be written any better!
Reading this post reminds me of my good old room mate! He always kept chatting about this.
I will forward this write-up to him. Fairly certain he
will have a good read. Many thanks for sharing!

Comment by Restauracja Marka

Heya! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new iphone 4!
Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts!

Carry on the superb work!

Comment by www.43things.com




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

